TL;DR
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Oliva LLC is recalling about 250 units of Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and Hummus because the labels did not declare sesame. The products were distributed in parts of Connecticut and Massachusetts; the company says no illnesses have been reported. Customers are urged to return affected products for a refund or replacement.
Oliva LLC is recalling about 250 units of Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and Hummus because the products may contain sesame that was not declared on their labels. The company’s announcement, posted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on October 9, 2026, warns that people with a sesame allergy or severe sensitivity could face a serious or life-threatening reaction if they eat the affected products.
The affected products were sold through gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington area of Massachusetts. They come in clear, square plastic containers with white-and-green labels; the best-by date is stamped on the side of the label. The announcement does not identify individual retailers.
The listed best-by dates are October 10–14, 2026, for Baba Ghanouj; October 10–14, 2026, for Spicy Baba Ghanouj; and October 12–18, 2026, for Hummus. The company’s announcement spells the second product name once as “Spicy Baby Ghanouj,” while the recall title and consumer instructions call it “Spicy Baba Ghanouj.”
Oliva said the recall followed an inspection that found sesame missing from the ingredient declaration. The company reported that it has corrected the labeling since discovering the discrepancy and said no illnesses had been reported in connection with the issue as of the announcement. Consumers who bought the listed products are urged to return them to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement.
Risk for Sesame-Allergic Consumers
Sesame is a major food allergen, and an ingredient label that does not disclose its presence can leave allergic consumers without information they need to decide whether a product is safe for them. The company’s notice warns of the risk of a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction for people with a sesame allergy or severe sensitivity who consume the affected dips.
The recall covers a limited reported quantity of about 250 units and distribution in two regional areas, rather than a nationwide product distribution, according to the announcement. People who shop at the named types of retailers in those areas can compare the product name, packaging and date range with the notice. The company advises customers with affected products to return them, rather than consume them.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Label Error Was Found
The FDA page identifies the notice as a company announcement and says it posts company recall, market withdrawal and safety-alert announcements as a public service. The agency states that posting an announcement does not mean it endorses the company or product. The stated reason for this recall is an undeclared sesame allergen.
According to Oliva, an inspection revealed that sesame was absent from the ingredient declaration. The company says it corrected the label after finding the discrepancy. The announcement provides no further account of how the labeling error occurred, when the inspection took place or whether other products were reviewed. It lists the recall date and FDA publication date as October 9, 2026.
““Our firm has corrected our labeling since discovering this discrepancy.””
— Oliva LLC, in the company announcement posted by the FDA
Scope and Inspection Details
The announcement does not name the individual stores or farm markets that received the products, say how many units went to each location, or explain whether all affected units have been removed from sale. It also does not specify the inspection’s date or provide more detail about the labeling correction. The company reports no illnesses, but the notice gives no separate account of consumer reports or reaction investigations.
The product listing uses a spelling discrepancy for the spicy dip: “Spicy Baby Ghanouj” in one best-by-date line and “Spicy Baba Ghanouj” elsewhere. Customers should check the brand, product, packaging and date range together and contact the company or retailer if they are unsure whether a container is included.
Return Products and Contact Oliva
Consumers who purchased one of the listed dips should return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement, as directed by Oliva. The company lists 203-266-5558 for consumer questions and says the line is available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern.
The notice does not give a deadline for returns or announce a further update schedule. Customers should use the company’s contact number for questions about affected products, while any additional information about distribution, returned units or corrective measures remains to be provided.
Key Questions
Which products are included in the recall?
The recall covers Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and Hummus with the best-by date ranges listed in the announcement.
What best-by dates should customers check?
Baba Ghanouj and Spicy Baba Ghanouj are listed with best-by dates from October 10 through October 14, 2026. Hummus is listed from October 12 through October 18, 2026.
Where were the recalled dips distributed?
Oliva says they went to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area. The notice does not identify specific retailers.
What should someone do with an affected product?
Do not eat it if it may be included in the recall. Return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement, or call Oliva at 203-266-5558 with questions. People with sesame allergies should seek urgent medical help if they experience a serious reaction after exposure.
Have any illnesses been reported?
The company said no illnesses had been reported in connection with the issue as of its October 9, 2026, announcement.
Source: primary
NFL season / tailgating Picks
team gear
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
